Neurodivergent Narratives
Neurodivergent Narratives Podcast
Issues with Self Trust
0:00
-30:37

Issues with Self Trust

I think we grow up learning not to trust ourselves, ignoring what we feel is right for us because of all the ways we’re told by the people closest to us and the rest of society what we need to learn to change and correct. The criticism feels like so much and it’s so hard to navigate with our emotions, so we learn to stop listening to ourselves and do what others want in the hopes that they will befriend us, help show us that we can be better. We think that others may be able to guide us to be better. We’ve been wrong so often, we can’t trust that we know what’s right for us anymore. All the criticism around us teaches us that we can’t trust ourselves to do things without others’ help. This episode explores how this looks like for me with a few stories and the one thing that I’m doing to help develop my self trust and why this works.

What I knew:

  • Not listening to my intuition

  • Not remembering the lessons learned in past mistakes 

  • Constant criticism

  • Listening to everyone else around me and not myself 

  • Feeling feel so intense, 

The problems with self trust I experience:

  • Control 

  • Perfectionism 

  • Oversensitive to criticism

  • People pleasing 

Takeaway tip:

  • One Small Self Care Promise (ex: write 3 things you’re grateful for, drink a glass of water first thing, make your bed, stretch, do 10 push ups first thing)

Resources:

Connect with me:

On IG @theadhdgoodlife
On FB @adhdgoodlife
On Twitter: @theadhdgoodlife
Site: www.wellnessandwhiteboards.com 

Click for my ‘Building Self Worth’ freebie: https://bit.ly/35zfy57 

Support the show

0 Comments
Neurodivergent Narratives
Neurodivergent Narratives Podcast
on exploring neurodivergence, rejecting social norms & embracing the beauty & messiness of reconnecting to our humanity.