7 Comments
Jul 24, 2022·edited Jul 24, 2022Liked by Sandra Coral

I remember one time I shared a post on IG about asking my son to teach me to draw something. And he said something like, “how did you forget?” “I can teach you to draw but why did you forget how to?” And he didn’t think about how profound that was at the time, but it was. I think we are all creative but the demands of life can put out that light. We become too focused on surviving. Once we become adults it’s as if most things that are considered creative are also considered “child’s play.” A hobby? Something to do on the side? The weekend? But never something one works deliberately at.

Expand full comment
Jul 23, 2022Liked by Sandra Coral

I always say - if you're gifted in some way, creatively or whatever, you would be gifted even if you were not neurodivergent. It's part of who you are. Not because*** of your neurotype.

Expand full comment
founding

Omg sandra I can’t wait to hear more thoughts on this if you end up sharing them - because your laser intersectional matrix views are 10000% obvs gonna be revelatory, as is this - because yes you’re articulating the whole icky icky thing of - like, it confuses me if anything because I guess the thing ur describing of “excusing the parts of ND society hates” relates to how stressed I feel that so many “super prolific creative people” ARENT / weren’t ND - like , is a non ND creative person then “better” their ND counterpart??? And also WHAT HAPPENS WHEN SOCIETY DOESNT GIVE A SHIT about the kind of creativity that ND person manifests - when my creativity makes me restrategise and reinvent the wheel every single time I do ANYTHING basic, no one is patting me on the back or giivng me innovation awards - they’re sighing, critsising, or at best, tolerating - ggagahhhhz . Thank you for posting this, I’ve long found it depressing the whole “creative” thing ESPESH given it’s got me absolutely nowhere in jobs and companies that claim to “thrive on creativity and innovation” fuck their narrow definition of those words! Xxxx

Expand full comment