Neurodivergent Narratives
Neurodivergent Narratives Podcast
On Learning to Pause
0:00
-28:28

On Learning to Pause

Pausing is one of those things I didn’t realise was such a big deal until I was diagnosed and realised it was one of those things people knew what to do. Yes, I’ve experienced a lot of great stuff in the past because of my undiagnosed ADHD due to my impulsivity, but I’ve also messed up a fair bit too because of my inability to always pause. This has impacted all areas of my life and it’s not something that has been easy for me to develop (it’s still not). It feels like a skill I’ve had to learn how to implement into my life and it’s not easy (nor have I become an expert in it!) But this episode talks about some ways I’ve tried to practice developing it and what’s been working for me.

What I believed:

  • Lack of control in my life

  • Lack of willpower

  • Everything needed to fall apart

What I know now:

  • Medication helps 

  • Meditation as training (and helping for mindfulness too)

  • Go to phrases to stop making yes your go to answer

  • Finding ways that work for you 

What I did:

  1. Changing the way I saw myself 

  2. Pausing takes practice 

  3. Set alarms, reminders and visuals (to help with practicing)

  4. Brought back to my breath 

What you can do too:

  1. When do you pause in your life? (Collect evidence)

  2. How can you add practicing more pauses in your life? 

  3. Using reminders

Resources:

Connect with me:
On IG @theadhdgoodlife
On FB @adhdgoodlife
Site: www.wellnessandwhiteboards.com
Click for my ‘Building Self Worth’ freebie: https://bit.ly/35zfy57 

Support the show

0 Comments
Neurodivergent Narratives
Neurodivergent Narratives Podcast
on exploring neurodivergence, rejecting social norms & embracing the beauty & messiness of reconnecting to our humanity.